GizmoPal Update

Standard

It’s been about a month since we started using the #GizmoPal #GPS #KidsWatch and I thought I’d do an update! 🙂

image

When we first tried them with the boys, Justin loved his! but Tyler couldn’t stand wearing it. He wouldn’t allow it to be on for more than a minute or two and that was with massive redirection.

image

I finally realized how to fix the problem and help him keep the watch on! You can read that here.

But the short version is: I stopped trying to make him wear it inside and made it a routine that when we leave the house, it goes on (since that’s when he’ll be wearing it anyway).

After that light bulb moment, it’s been all down hill since.

He progressively got better and better about keeping it on longer and longer without wanting it off.

We are in the second week of school and both of the boys teachers tell me that they both keep their watches on the whole time they’re at school, with a few exceptions. If they get sweaty from running around outside, they’ll take them off for a little bit but then put it back on once they’re not sweaty any more. 🙂   (I’m the same way)

image

image

And I have tried out the GPS before, but I actually really got to use it yesterday. The bus was later than I was expecting… I needed to get Jaxson up from his nap, but I didn’t want to take a chance that I’d be in the middle of a diaper change as the bus pulled up (it’s happened).

After about 10 minutes standing at the window, getting frustrated… I realized he was wearing his watch! Duh!

Checked with my phone app where he was and saw he was only a minute or two from home. So I waited outside and sure enough a minute or two later and the bus pulls up! 😀

So considering we were able to put the watches on our phone account (we didn’t have to pay all of it up front), and the kids have adjusted well, I give it a 8/10.

With a few things like making the band bigger (not sure it’ll fit Justin next year), and making it also harder to get off could make up for points lost. 😉

If you want to check out the watch online, here’s the link.

Leave a Reply

