Toys and appropriate play

Standard

“When I try to play with my daughter or help her understand what toys are she squeals and starts biting my hands. I just want to help her play like other kids, but she just doesn’t know what to do and won’t let me help her.”

Justin and Tyler are still like that at almost 6 and 7 (and now even Jax at 13 months is like that)… but once I stopped… I realized they are perfectly happy playing completely different than the way other kids play.

It still breaks my heart when they either way to play with other kids or kids want to play with them and there’s just this … barrier…

But generally… they’re happy. I’m less stressed out and sad… and so are they. I’m not saying stop trying… because who knows- someday something might click. But don’t let it eat at you. Our kids are different… so their play is different. And it doesn’t make it wrong. Just… different. 🙂 And that’s okay. ❤ ❤

Leave a comment