Food Issues Comment

Standard

The person who commented on this picture took their comment down which then also deleted mine… so I had to paraphrase the best I could. But, I think it’s important for people to understand, so I’m taking the time to rewrite and add on a bit to my responce since I’m making it into a blog. 🙂

(Not exactly word for word… but I did my best to remember everything)
Thank GOD my daughter isn’t like that. I never bought into all that crap. My daughter eats what is put in front of her. I’m sure she’d only eat one thing too if I only let her eat the things she wants to eat. It’s not good for them! If they don’t want to eat it now, wait. They’ll eat it when they get hungry. And a nutritionist I talked to agreed with me!

You know… I used to think that way too. That’s how I was raised. I wasn’t allowed to leave the table until I finished my plate, and if I didn’t, I wasn’t allowed to eat anything for the rest of the night. If it was something I just wasn’t going to eat, I’d sit there for hours. I’d TRY to eat it… but I just… couldn’t.

I even tried to apply this to my kids before I found out they were Autistic and had Texture issues/Food Aversions. I wouldn’t keep anything in the house that was bad for the kids (and if I did, they were hidden and ONLY every once and a while. Like gummies once a week)… before they regressed they pretty much ate everything and anything. I can remember back when Tyler was about a year old eating a sub with lettuce and tomatoes on it (torn apart of course, but he’d eat everything). Pasta, avocado, all kinds of fruits and veggies… Justin ate pretty much the same stuff minus the avocado. lol It actually makes me sad thinking about it. But then they regressed. They didn’t stop eating everything right off the bat. It was like they got tired of eating it, so I figured, ‘no big deal… they need a break from it, we’ll do it again next week…’. Only next week they didn’t want it either (or they would only eat a little bit of it)… and then the following week they wouldn’t eat it until I realized they just weren’t eating it at all any more. And slowly… most of the foods they loved started becoming foods they wouldn’t even try anymore without a screaming/wrestling match. I tried the “you’re not getting up until you eat” or “you’re not eating anything else until you eat this… when you’re hungry an hour from now, I’ll heat this back up and you can eat it then”… But it never worked. Knowing what I know now, I feel bad that I pushed them like that.

Every once and a while… holding them still and getting even just a small bite in their mouth to remind them that they liked it worked, but not often. Usually they would start gagging and spitting it out like it was the worst thing they’ve ever tasted.

Jax (their little brother) on the other hand started off with texture issues/food aversions. He’s NEVER wanted to eat fruits and veggies… pasta… He’ll eat some fruits/veggies if they’re purred, but he also has some other issues we’re trying to figure out.

It wasn’t until I started learning about my kids food issues that I really started to understand mine. My Mom would get SO ANGRY with me for not eating. Back then everything was just… gross. Everything smelled gross, looked gross… I was a lot like Justin. I would eat some things, but I had a very limited interest (and my Mom loved cooking with onions and peppers). I got picked on a LOT for being a picky eater. It got worse the older I got. “Why can’t you be more like your brother – see, he’s eating it!” or “stop being such a baby and eat it.” We would go to Red Lobster or somewhere for a special occasion and I’d order chicken fingers. They were safe and I knew I’d eat them. My husband says that I have “little kid taste buds”. I don’t like beer or wine or even most alcohols. I don’t like eating most fruits and veggies… I like most of the flavors of them, but I don’t like the texture. Like I LOVE apples… raw. But I cannot and will not eat an apple pie. I hate the texture of a cooked apple. Then there are some veggies I just can’t bring myself to eat because I recoil just thinking about eating them.

Believe me. I don’t WANT to be like this. I WANT to be able to eat everything and anything. Do you know how much it sucks when you wanted to “grow up” to be a chef, only to realize you can’t because you have to taste the food you’re making? I love to cook… with cool and crazy colors and spices… I love creating. But I can’t eat it. It sucks. I get SO BORED with my food options… but I can only get so creative with the limited choices I have when cooking for myself. I do try new things, but between just not being able to try it, hold it down, or the texture… I end up not liking much. There are a few times where I’ll actually try something new and like it! Those are pretty exciting days, but it’s often discouraging because they’re SO few and far between.

So in ending this blog, since I’m now rewriting it, is in two fold…

1: When you see and read things like the picture at the top, hopefully this will give you a better understanding and you’ll either keep scrolling and hold off on judgment or at least remind you to be thankful you don’t have to worry about all of this.

2: If you ARE raising a kid who has issues with food for one reason or another… to try to be patient. As a Mom of special needs kids with food issues… it’s frustrating. All I want is for them to be happy and healthy and have more than the few options they have right now to eat. Then I have to remind myself, I know what it’s like for them. It’s not their fault… and it’s not fun on that side either.

A special thank you to Autism Odysseys for allowing me to use their picture for my blog! 🙂 

6 thoughts on “Food Issues Comment

  1. I coerced Ben into trying guacamole today. lol. It cost me a popsicle, but hey, he tried something new and I am way past being weird about bribery! Highly sensitive kids just have different needs, and the sooner society breaks free of this idea that we can force them to eat …through starvation or whatever… the better. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love your attitude on this. I have a very picky eater who drove me crazy with worry I finally started to let it go. He also doesn’t eat a lot, but I finally decided that if he isn’t hungry in the morning for breakfast, well then he just isn’t hungry. And you know what….he chows down at lunch time. So he still gets the calories he needs eventually. I think we should listen to them a little more and realize (as you did) how they are like us. We don’t like everything, why should we expect them to? I think there is a difference between giving guidance and force feeding. Put it in front of them;give them the idea for it and then allow them to learn to make choices on their own. Provide the guidance by only putting food in front of them that you as a parent approve. Eventually they will eat something because it’s in our instinct to eat when we are hungry. I find my picky eater eventually gets hungry and eats, and when he is really hungry is when he tries new things. Great post. Glad I stumbled upon your blog this week. 🙂

    Like

    • 🙂 Thanks hun!
      I agree! And actually, Tyler used to be like that… he was just NOT a breakfast eater! So, I started putting pediasure in his milk in the mornings, then eventually I stopped putting it in his milk and his body naturally told him “uhhh hey – we WERE getting a lot more calories around this time… you need to eat!” lol So now he is a good breakfast eater.
      And that’s a really good point, that some poeple may not think about – having kids try new foods is usually best when they’re nice and hungry. What’s that phrase? “Hunger is the best seasoning?” lol

      Glad you stumbled upon us too! 😀 Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! ❤ 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

