Good Question #1

Standard

What are the odds that my daughter is the only one in both my family sides with asd?

Honestly… in MY PERSONAL oppinion. lol *Not a doctor*
I personally think it’s highly unlikely.

When we first got the boys diagnosed, we thought they were the ONLY ones in our entire family who were on the spectrum.

We knew VERY VERY little about Autism at the time, let alone how to look for it in adults or those who were on the other side of the spectrum from our kids.

Over the last 3 1/2 years since their diagnosis, I’ve started realizing there’s a lot more in our family… specifically me and my husband. Possibly one of my brothers, more than likely my father, my Grandfather on my Mom’s side, my Grandmother on my Dad’s side…. and probably a few on my husbands side too. And that’s not counting things like OCD, SPD, ADHD or other “disorders”.

See…. I don’t think that Autism is really getting “more popular”… I personally think that we’re just learning how to diagnos and recognize it better. If people from even the last 100 years were looked at and diagnosed the way we are doing it now, there would be a lot more Autistic people in the world. Not that there isn’t now… they just don’t know it.

If you would have asked me 4 years ago if I was Autistic I would have said no… if you asked me even 2 years ago, I would have said no.

So, for me, as a person who thinks Autism is genetic, I’d say it’s HIGHLY unlikely that someone else in your family isn’t on the spectrum or maybe has something else… like OCD or ADHD or SPD.Or something like that.

I’ve hear a lot of people say that it doesn’t matter… that Autism is just a label. There’s nothing they could do about it now, so what’s the point?

I’m self diagnosed, and personally, it’s a big deal for me. It’s helped me understand why I do the things I do and has helped me not be so hard on myself. It also has helped me better understand the relationships I have with people and family. Not only that, but it also helps me be a better parent, because I can relate to my Autistic kids better than I thought I could before.

Leave a Reply

